ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Notices

Old October 23rd, 2021, 10:47 AM   #1
culprit
ninjette.org member

Name: Colin

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250r

Unhappy 2009 Ninja 250r NO SPARK

Hey guys. My 2009 Ninja 250r is suffering a chronic case of no spark. I have no prior knowledge of working on bikes, basically starting from scratch. I do do all my own work on my cars and modify them, so I figured I could handle a simple bike. Or so I thought lmao.

Picked the bike up and the owner told me it would start with starter fluid bc the carb was clogged, but the battery was dead so he couldn't show me. My mistake.

Got her home and first I changed the battery because it was dead dead. No recharging that sucker. It would turn over just fine now, but not catch at all. No signs of any kind of ignition. Couldn't smell any exhaust. Then, checked the gas tank, fuel lines, petcock, carb, etc, no dice. Gas tank was gross so I pulled it, drained and cleaned it out with good gas. Seemed to be working just fine.

Pulled a spark plug and it was nasty, so I swapped out both. Still no spark. At this point I'm just checking spark via holding it against a ground. (Already checked that the ground on the frame would indeed ground with my ohm meter, read 12 volts) I bypassed all my safety switches, still no spark. In neutral with the kick-stand down too even though those are by-passed. Time to check the coils. Primary resistance is within spec at 2.5 ohms. Secondary resistance on the other hand… I’m reading 18,200 on one and 18,400 on the other. Specs from the book are 10-16,000 ohms. Are both my coils bad? Would 2-2500 ohms be enough to not be getting a spark?