ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old October 1st, 2014, 04:50 AM   #1
Rustitution
World Class Ninja

Name: Rusty

Motorcycle(s): 2002 Ninja 250, 96 VFR750, 79 Yamaha XS1100 Special

Engine Teardown and Rebuild

So I mentioned this in my New Rider/Member thread but I figured it could use it's own thread that way if I end up documenting this well enough others can learn from it. The format for this thread will be like any other build thread; meaning a post with a few pictures when I can. I'm hoping that after the end of all this. I can make a dedicated post/thread on how to to a tear down/rebuild.

Some notes on what to expect this is going to be as much an educational experience for me as it will be for you. Yes I'm a certified mechanic (I have the piece of paper) but i've never done something this extreme and I'm really excited.

First things first you need to remove the engine. I didn't really document this process very well but you will need to remove the fairings first. to do that you need a 5mm allen key i believe and possibly a phillips head screw driver. Once the fairings are of you need to start really getting down to the nitty gritty you need to remove the engine sprocket cover, engine sprocket (this I could not do so I had to remove the rear wheel so I could get the chain off the engine sprocket) I flushed and removed the entire coolant system, remove the gas tank, remove the carbs (disconnect the throttle cable after you label one of them as front or rear) and disconnect the clutch cable a ground cable and the oil sensor. I'm sure there is one or two things I missed but this should give you a good idea.

DONE I went a tad crazy but again when will you have everything apart like this again. For me probably never. I got it all apart like this in a few hours this weekend I am thinking of stripping it down to the frame and plastidipping the frame a different color.