Notices

Old November 24th, 2010, 09:08 AM   #1
1994Ninja250F
‘94 Rider

Name: Colin

Motorcycle(s): 1994 Kawasaki Ninja EX250F

Low-Speed Maneuvering

Hello,

Ever since I started riding motorcycles a few years ago, there's been something that's always given me some problems. Lets say I pull up to a four-way stop, and want to turn left. As I'm starting out from a stop and turning at the same time, I tend to take the turn wide all the time. Not wide enough to almost hit the curb, but it makes me uncomfortable. I should also say that this only happens with me at slow speeds. What advice can you guys give me on how to fix this?
1994Ninja250F is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 24th, 2010, 10:01 AM   #2
llenta
ninjette.org member

Name: Jeff

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Daytona 675 SE

i had the same issue when i was first started riding. for me it was a confidence thing. i wasn't comfortable at the time leaning the bike over at such low speeds, i always thought the bike would fall over. i would try to turn with just moving the handlebars and i always swung a bit wide. i found for me that if i just trust the bike to not slip out under me, i could lean the bike over quite a bit as long as i had some throttle. for me, i just needed to lean the bike a bit more and tight turns were a piece of cake.

of course everybody situation is a little different, but that was my experience. its amazing how tight these little bikes can turn around when you have confidence in them.
llenta is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 24th, 2010, 11:00 AM   #3
SVBS
ninjette.org member

Name: KT

Motorcycle(s): 1 of them Big Four

when I first started, I also have problem with u-turns, always put both feet down, took me a few weeks to get over it, advises is to trust your baby , and you'll get over it in no time
SVBS is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 24th, 2010, 11:15 AM   #4
lux
ninjette.org guru

Name: lux

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Ninja 250R