ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old February 23rd, 2012, 12:39 AM   #1
ajcadoo
Towster ['__'`,-,

Name: Josh

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Green Ninja 250 SE

Noob Stalling Question

Man I feel nooby so dont bite me in the butt here. The ninja is my first standard transmission I have driven before. I own an automatic car and have never driven manual.

Anyway, for whatever reason, I have been frequently stalling when I start from a dead stop. I think it is because I am SOMETIMES only in 2nd gear from a stop. I dont downshift all the way to first. Mostly because I am a rookie and I dont know which gear I am in at a given moment.

What do you guys do to remember what gear you are in? Do you count as you upshift or something?

Also, When I stall at a dead stop, the ninja will sometimes refuse to start!

Yesterday, I was stuck at an intersection for a good 30 seconds trying to figure out WTF was happening. I was turning the ignition off, adjusted engine cutoff switch, clutch in, starter button. Nothing was STARTING! Finally I put the bike in neutral and then it started.

Is it possible I had the bike in second gear and that is why it refused to start? I just couldnt understand why it was not starting after it stalled.
ajcadoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 23rd, 2012, 01:20 AM   #2
Jiggles
Jigglin' your Jiglets

Name: Sean

Motorcycle(s): 2009 K1300S, 2013 Ninja 300, 2011 Ninja 250R, Faster than Unregistered's ninjette

MOTM - Apr '13
Sometiems you have to pulll the clutch in really far in order for the bike to start
AFM #676
Supersports are for n00bs
Jiggles is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 23rd, 2012, 01:32 AM   #3
Jiggles
Jigglin' your Jiglets

Motorcycle(s): 2009 K1300S, 2013 Ninja 300, 2011 Ninja 250R, Faster than Unregistered's ninjette

MOTM - Apr '13
Don't be afraid to put your rpms up to 6k when you pull away at lights, better than stalling
AFM #676

Old February 23rd, 2012, 02:45 AM   #4
Trailerboy531