ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycling News

Old November 28th, 2015, 12:51 PM   #1
Ninjette Newsbot
All the news that's fit to excerpt

Name: newsie

Motorcycle(s): only digital replicas

[motorcyclistonline] - 1998 Honda CR500 Roadracer

Brian Lloyd's 1998 Honda CR500 Roadracer.

©Motorcyclist

NAME: Brian Lloyd
HOME: Mukwonago, Wisconsin

I had a kidney and liver transplant in August 2012. I worked as a master auto tech for 25 years, and exposure to carbon tetrachloride did me in. After my surgery, all I could think about was doing another trackday. Shortly after the operation I took my Buell XB12R to Blackhawk Farms, my local track. After one session a control rider came up and said, “You really gotta work on your style. You look terrible on the bike.” I lifted my shirt, and I wasn’t even healed yet! I was just happy to be on the bike. But his condescension motivated me: Not only am I going to come back and beat you, but I’ll beat you on a bike I built!

I’ve been dreaming about this bike for almost 15 years. I raced motocross as a kid, and I really love the two-stroke powerband. I also have a CR500 motard—fun but limited at high speeds by front-end chatter because the geometry is all wrong.