ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old May 10th, 2010, 06:09 PM   #1
rsamtani
ninjette.org member

Name: Rahul

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Blue Ninja 250r

weird sound around 8500-9000 rpm

In 2nd and 3rd gear between 8500-9000 rpm (only) i hear kinda a clanking sound like somethings flying around in the engine and hitting the sides. Then as soon as I get to 9500+ or 8500-, its fine no real audible noise. I've only heard it in 2nd and 3rd gear because thats what I ride around most in (city rider mostly).

My bike is an 09 250r. Just hit 900 miles, broken in properly and did the 600 mile service from the dealership I bought it from. Everything is stock. I'm not a heavy rider (5'9, 160) so it shouldnt be a weight/suspension issue?
Worried that it may be some debris in the engine? I'm new to bikes so if that just sounds stupid I do apologize.

Anyone have any ideas?
rsamtani is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 10th, 2010, 06:43 PM   #2
kkim

put your hand on the clutch lever and see if that helps.
kkim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 10th, 2010, 07:00 PM   #3
rsamtani
ninjette.org member

what do you mean? Just have my hand on the clutch at that rpm? not squeezed or anything right? I normally have my left hand hovering over the clutch anyways, could that be a problem?

Old May 10th, 2010, 07:08 PM   #4
kkim

no, I was suggesting that it might be the clutch lever rattling that you are hearing at that rpm. most riders don't ride with the clutch or brake lever covered as taught in the MSF classes now days.

So, I guess it's not your clutch lever making the noise you're hearing.

can you make it do the same noise without riding it... as in revving the engine in while in neutral?

Old May 10th, 2010, 07:15 PM   #5
rsamtani
ninjette.org member