ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 20th, 2011, 11:45 PM   #1
pilotgeorge747
ninjette.org guru

Name: George

Motorcycle(s): 08 Ninja 250r 03 Yamaha R6 (Project bike)

Pirelli Sport Demon or Dunlop GT501?

So after reading through an hour or so of tire threads on here I have yet to make a decision on new tires. I am replacing my GT501's on my bike even though they have about 2,000 miles on them because I fear they are too old and not as sticky as they should be. Since I am new to riding and haven't had any real experience with the 501's other than short distances and a lowside. I'm still not sure of the exact cause of the lowside other than taking a turn too wide trying to avoid a puddle and the bike came out from under me. Therefore I am looking for the most grip I can get from the new tires.

So any thoughts for which would be best for commuting and the occasional fun ride? I've read about the Sport Demons being sticker than the 501s in the dry but what about in the wet?
pilotgeorge747 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 21st, 2011, 12:19 AM   #2
Havok
Internet Slut

Name: Jeff

Motorcycle(s): 04 FZ1, 07 FZ6

Look at the pilot powers as well. I have them on the fazer and found them quite sticky, I liked them so much I put them on the ninjette as well. Don't know about wet roads as it's been nice and dry here in so cal.
Havok is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 21st, 2011, 12:24 AM   #3
Ichiro
ninjette.org member

Name: Ichiro

Motorcycle(s): 2008 250r(sold). 2013 Kymco Super8 150

Tires are reviewed here
http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showthread.php?t=9780
Ichiro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 21st, 2011, 06:36 AM   #4
Snake
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Rick

Motorcycle(s): 05 Blue Ninja 250

MOTY - 2017, MOTM - Jan '19, Oct '16, May '14
My vote is for the Pirelli Sport Demons.
Snake is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 21st, 2011, 07:11 AM   #5