ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old September 29th, 2011, 02:04 AM   #1
Zedster
ninjette.org member

Name: Zed

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250r

Ninja bogging down?

Hi All, Noob here. I'm having a problem with my Kawi and would greatly appreciate some help!

I recently bought a used 250r, and it rode fine at first. Then after about 3 weeks, I was riding one day, and while slowing down at an intersection, the engine suddenly cut out. I figured that it was because I was new at riding and didn't use the right gear, but after I got the bike re-started, it started to feel really bogged. I would go shift the gears up like usual, but even after getting to 6th gear and throttled all the way, the max speed would be like 55~65 on the speedometer. It would suddenly feel like it caught on for 1~2 seconds and I would speed up, then immediately lose power, and slow down again. I was really close to home, so I just went home and parked. The next day when I rode it, it bogged for a couple of minutes, then was fine. I rode to my friend's place, he tried it, it was ok, we took out the air-filter and sprayed carb cleaner through there and the problem didn't happen again, he was unable to duplicate it either.