ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old July 14th, 2013, 07:32 PM   #1
LemonSlice!
ninjette.org newbie!

Name: Lemon

Motorcycle(s): 2005 Kawasaki Ninja EX250-F (Ebony/Galaxy Silver)

Question Kenda K671 tires? Too tall?

Hello! This is my first post here, nice to meet everyone!

I just got my very first bike, a beautiful 2005 ninjette with 8,6xx miles. It came to me with brand new tires (less than 100 miles) which is cool...except that they are brand new Dunlop K630s... So I'm looking at new tires as my first upgrade.

I'm a newbie rider, and I don't plan on doing any hard riding for a good long time. What I'm looking for are tires that I'll feel confident with in standard street riding, particularly wet (I live in the Pacific Northwest), but that won't raise my bike too much. I'm fairly small (female 5'3") and one thing I love about my ninjette is that I can flat-foot when stopped and I feel I can control/stabilize it (not so when I try to ride my husband's Z1000!!!) I've read the ninja250.org tire faq, and my question is - will the Kenda 671 raise my bike much? I see they're good for commuters (track days are a long ways off in my future...), but will they raise my bike at all? That's my main concern.

Thank you in advance!!
Lemon
LemonSlice! is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 14th, 2013, 07:38 PM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Welcome to the site, Lemon !!!

Yes, those will make the rear a little bit higher, but nothing dramatic.

For moderate street riding, the tires that your bike has now are perfectly fine, unless they are more than five or six years old from manufacturing date.
Motofool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 14th, 2013, 07:47 PM   #3
LemonSlice!
ninjette.org newbie!

Name: Lemon

Motorcycle(s): 2005 Kawasaki Ninja EX250-F (Ebony/Galaxy Silver)