ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 11th, 2011, 11:47 AM   #1
Mountain Dew
Ambrosia.

Name: Jaymie

Motorcycle(s): 1974 Honda CB550K0 W.I.P.

Dropping into N after shifting to 2nd.

My gearbox will sometimes (as much as 10 times a week) drop from 2nd into N.

I first noticed it at about 1500 miles, where a particularly hard bump would knock it into N, but only if I didn't kick the shifter up hard enough to hear an audible click.

It started getting worse at about 2500 miles where it would drop into N if I didn't kick the shifter up hard enough to hear an audible click.

And now at about 4000 miles, it's getting even worse and dropping into N regardless of how hard I kicked the shifter up.

This sounds like the teeth on the gear are getting worn down, right (I'm not a mechanic and not exactly sure how it works in there)?

The parts will be covered by warranty, I know that for sure. But I stopped by my dealer and they said labor wasn't covered under warranty. Is that correct?

Old August 11th, 2011, 11:52 AM   #2
azimmer11
ninjette.org sage

Name: Alex

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountain Dew View Post
My gearbox will sometimes (as much as 10 times a week) drop from 2nd into N.

I first noticed it at about 1500 miles, where a particularly hard bump would knock it into N, but only if I didn't kick the shifter up hard enough to hear an audible click.

It started getting worse at about 2500 miles where it would drop into N if I didn't kick the shifter up hard enough to hear an audible click.

And now at about 4000 miles, it's getting even worse and dropping into N regardless of how hard I kicked the shifter up.

This sounds like the teeth on the gear are getting worn down, right (I'm not a mechanic and not exactly sure how it works in there)?