Notices

Old May 18th, 2017, 08:28 AM   #1
Finesse
ran when parked

Name: Katie

Motorcycle(s): Freeride 250R, KLX250SF, mopeds

MOTM - Sep '17, Dec '14
Advanced Rider Courses? MSF or others?

I looked for the MSF Advanced Rider course but there is nothing offered in my area (Pittsburgh PA) in the foreseeable future.

Does anyone know of another organization that offers classes that focus on things like emergency braking, swerving, tight maneuvers (U-turns, etc)? I've been riding for 4 years and just want to sharpen my slow-speed skills while someone yells at me to turn my head.

Any other companies/groups I can try? Otherwise, I'll just go find a parking lot and set up some cones.. but I'd like some instruction.

Thanks!
Finesse is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 18th, 2017, 08:30 AM   #2
adouglas
Cat herder

Name: Gort
Location: A secret lair which, being secret, has an undisclosed location

Motorcycle(s): Aprilia RS660

MOTM - Jul '18, Nov '16, Aug '14, May '13
Look for a Lee Parks Total Control clinic in your area.

Nam et ipsa scientia potestas est.
Heri historia. Cras mysterium. Hodie donum est. Carpe diem.
adouglas is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 18th, 2017, 08:37 AM   #3
Finesse
ran when parked

MOTM - Sep '17, Dec '14
Thanks. I found ProRider and their courses look great but they are all sold out for this summer.

Old May 18th, 2017, 09:05 AM   #4
csmith12
The Corner Whisperer

Name: Chris (aka Reactor)

Motorcycle(s): 2010 250 (track), 1992 250, 2006 R6 (street/track), 2008 R6 (track)

MOTY 2015, MOTM - Nov '12, Nov '13
What Mr. Fist said is a great option.

Although it's a longer drive, Mid-Ohio is working up a more intense program as well. Some slow speed drills along with some cornering techniques. It should be launching soon. It takes place on the tracks autocross course (pictured below). The pic does not show the painted candy striping and cone layout for the course.