ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old July 23rd, 2011, 10:26 AM   #1
RAMN
ninjette.org newbie

Name: RAMN

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250

Coolant top up

I'm new to Streetbikes and need some help.
Can I just add any coolant to what's already in the bike?
RAMN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 23rd, 2011, 06:20 PM   #2
Soujyu
ninjette.org sage

Name: W

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Ninja 250R (sold), 2012 Tuono V4R

Did you check the coolant in the coolant reserve tank? If that's at the correct level, then you do not need to top it up.

Your regular ethylene glycol coolant that you would put in a car will work just fine in the 250R, and that's what the dealer/previous probably put in (since most people will end up draining the coolant in order to do a valve adjustment).

Also, what color is the coolant that was used? (Again, look at the coolant reserve tank.)
Soujyu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 23rd, 2011, 06:21 PM   #3
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

If it's just to top up, distilled water will work just as well.

ninjette.org Terms of Service

Shopping for motorcycle parts or equipment? Come here first.

The friendliest Ninja 250R/300/400 forum on the internet! (especially Unregistered)
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 23rd, 2011, 07:23 PM   #4
Snake
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Rick

Motorcycle(s): 05 Blue Ninja 250

MOTY - 2017, MOTM - Jan '19, Oct '16, May '14
^^^^ Yes, make sure you use distiller water and not tap water.
Snake is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 23rd, 2011, 07:34 PM   #5
CZroe
CPT Falcon

Name: J.Emmett Turner

Motorcycle(s): '08 CP Blue EX250J, '97 unpainted EX250F, 2nd '97 unpainted EX250F (no engine), '07 black EX250F