ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old August 4th, 2011, 03:15 PM   #1
AlanDog
ninjette.org guru

Name: Alan

Motorcycle(s): 2019 Ninja 400, 2009 KLX250-SF, 2014 Zero S

Freeway stability -- will fork upgrade help?

So I have a larger windshield, 15x44 gearing and it's pretty sweet on the freeway... but when I'm riding with my friend, who is on a Vstrom 650, he is way more comfortable at freeway speeds, at least from what he tells me. Going 70-80 with gusts of wind pushing me around is stressful for me, I honestly feel less stressed on a twisty road. I've been riding for about 6 months, have logged about 5k miles, but have never ridden before that and have never ridden anything except my ninja 250 (2007). I also have new tires (GT501 rear, Metzeler Lasertec rear).

So will a fork upgrade help with bike stability at freeway speed? Any experiences/opinions on this? I'm thinking of doing the ex500 spring upgrade (I weight 180).

Thanks!

-Alan
AlanDog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 03:25 PM   #2
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

I don't think increasing the stiffness of the front end will have anything to do with the bike's sensitivity to wind.

ninjette.org Terms of Service

Shopping for motorcycle parts or equipment? Come here first.

The friendliest Ninja 250R/300/400 forum on the internet! (especially Unregistered)
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 03:35 PM   #3
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
tuck more?

Old August 4th, 2011, 04:02 PM   #4
oblivion007
"scandal!"

Name: Adan

Motorcycle(s): 2011 250R(Crashed 2/26/2014), 09 ER6n

tuck more
oblivion007 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 4th, 2011, 04:25 PM   #5
Kevin2109
KThanksBye

Name: Kevin

Motorcycle(s): 2006 zx636r

Tuck more
Posted via Mobile Device