ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old May 10th, 2012, 03:46 PM   #1
lstat
THE ninja

Name: Logan

Motorcycle(s): '03 CBR 600 f4i "Lola"

Bike not running, too much oil?

Hey guys, quick question for all the experts! I am currently trying to help a family member find a motorcycle, he found a good one (we think) that would be a great rebuild/project. The guys has a 1996 ninja 250 that is "not currently running", he says he "put to much oil in it, after it is flushed and filled it will be fine." I am no engine expert but I wanted to get another opinion and see what you guys thought before he bites the bullet and goes to get it. Could this really be the problem or is it more of a common Craigslist issue of "hide the big details and just get rid of it" type thing?

Thanks for any help!

Unregistered doesn't know what he is talking about.
lstat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 10th, 2012, 04:04 PM   #2
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
a little bit too much oil isnt going to keep it from running. extra oil would simply sit higher up in the bottom of the crank case and the gears would be more filled with it. it would not cause extra oil to go up in the cylinder or anything like that. the oil pump controls how much oil goes to the top of the engine and adding too much oil would not change that, unless the engine was literally filled to the top. which i doubt. if that was the case, and too much oil actually is keeping it from running, the engine is probably useless and has grenaded internals.

whats more likely is the person didnt know what they were talking about and the bike has some clogged carbs and needs a valve adjustment.

on the plus, draining some oil out, or even doing a full oil change takes all of 5 minutes. have someone who knows what they are looking at look at the bike.

Old May 10th, 2012, 04:20 PM   #3
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan