ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old May 22nd, 2012, 09:53 AM   #1
patriots21
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Sam

Motorcycle(s): None yet

ECOTRONS EFI Kit Question

Good day to all, this is my first time posting here so please forgive me If I violate any of the forum rules we have here. I was just wondering if any anybody has ever attempted to communicate with any ECU using a microcontroller and then display real time data on an LCD display, think of a cycle analyst for e-bike enthusiasts.

This seems perfectly doable with the megasquirt EFI kit as they have provided information about the RS232 commands that can actually be used to communicate with the ECU as can be seen here: http://www.msextra.com/doc/ms1extra/COM_RS232.htm

The problem is, I'm using the ECOTRONS EFI kit which I can't seem to find any information on. I've managed to crack down what the ProCal tuning software sends to the ECU whenever it is connected, however I've no idea how to interpret the data that it throws back at me. I mean, which is the data for the battery voltage, which is for the tps: it's just a continuous stream of bytes coming out the ECU, and I am going nuts searching for any more information out here on the web. May be somebody here has already done this. Any insightful suggestion would be helpful as well.
patriots21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 22nd, 2012, 10:37 AM   #2
Scattcatt
ninjette.org sage

Name: Zach

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250R, 2003 Honda CBR600RR

Welcome to Ninjette!

I'm not quite sure I completely understand the problem, you can display some real time information when you press the "play" button while connected. I'm sure you already know this though. What information in particular are you trying to look at?