ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old June 26th, 2010, 07:08 AM   #1
NinjaD27
ninjette.org member

Name: Danielle

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R

Talking Downshifting prior to a turn

Hello all! I am new to this wonderful site and decided to ask the experts about this one issue I've been having. This is my first bike and everything is going pretty smoothly except when/how to downshift before a turn. Let say we're traveling at 50 mph in 6th gear. You want to make a relatively sharp right turn onto another road. What is the best way to combine downshifting and braking before the turn? I made one of these turns in a higher gear and the engine definitely not happy w/ me. So what is your preference: brake to lower RPMs then downshift? is it possible to downshift while braking? or let up on the throttle a good bit, downshift, then brake? Its taking me a while to prepare to make these turns and I would love some help on improving my skills. Thanks!
NinjaD27 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 26th, 2010, 07:20 AM   #2
bob706
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Sean

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250 1998 HD Road King

Welcome to the forum. You should have all your braking done before the turn. You can downshift while braking just go into the turn at the appropriate gear/speed and gently throttle through the turn.
bob706 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 26th, 2010, 07:23 AM   #3
ally99
Ninja chick

Name: Allyson

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300

MOTM - Dec '13, Feb '15
Downshifting

Here's the way I approach a corner when I know I need to downshift.