ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old March 7th, 2010, 07:36 PM   #1
SephiaSputnik
ninjette.org member

Name: Laura

Motorcycle(s): Suzuki SV 650, Ninja 250

bike won't start :/

Hiya, I'm new here Bought a 94' Ninja 250 at the beginning of February and it was running fine until one fateful day when he (yes I said He) wouldn't start up so well. I did realize that there probably wasn't enough fuel in there etc... and then after trying to start it I either flooded it or drained the battery.

I charged the battery with my battery tender... filled up the gas tank with a couple of gallons with some seafoam and it still would not start. It sounded like it was cranking but not quite enough spark. So my friends recommended that I check the spark plugs.

Now mind you I have little to no experience with spark plugs so I read a lot on the forums of how to do it. Got the first one off... tested it and put it back on with the anti-seize. Took off the other plug... couldn't see too well if it was sparking or not so I moved it around and it was touching one of the screws sticking out from the top of the engine, thought no big deal that it was touching since it was metal. WELL, I pressed the starter button and I heard it turn once and then the whole electrical system went out.

Once again I call my friends and search the forums and they all tell me its a blown fuse. I checked the fuse box and they all looked fine. I checked the "starter solenoid" fuse too and it seems to be fine. Is it possible I somehow blew up the starter solenoid without actually doing anything to the fuse?

Ugh so frustrating

Thanks for any help!

-L
SephiaSputnik is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 7th, 2010, 08:22 PM   #2
Snake
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Rick

Motorcycle(s): 05 Blue Ninja 250

MOTY - 2017, MOTM - Jan '19, Oct '16, May '14