ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Off-Topic

Old September 5th, 2010, 01:17 PM   #1
Dano
ninjette.org sage

Name: Dan

Motorcycle(s): 09' Blue Ninja 250R and 07' Honda 919

Installing a hitch

Ok so I am planning on installing a trailer hitch to my wifes 2010 Chevy Equinox, the ones sold are no drilling so should be pretty easy to install, they run under $200 for the hitch, the wiring is $50 plug and play then gotta buy the ball. So here is my question should I get the Class III or Class II seems to me the only difference on the specs is thaat the III comes with a 2" reciever and the the II comes with a 1 1/4" reciever.

I am a complete novice to the whole towing thing, not driving them but installing and purchasing them. I plan on using it for a bike rack and a small trailer for the bike and I always need something at the home depot so it would be nice to have it for that. Please help me decide.
Dano is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 5th, 2010, 02:17 PM   #2
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

If the truck can take a class III, I'd install that. In terms of the draw bar that you install into the hitch later, no matter what you want to tow you can get the appropriate draw bar to fit either the 1 1/4" or the 2".

ninjette.org Terms of Service

Shopping for motorcycle parts or equipment? Come here first.

The friendliest Ninja 250R/300/400 forum on the internet! (especially Unregistered)
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 5th, 2010, 06:48 PM   #3
BlueRaven
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Lil One

Motorcycle(s): '09 Ninja 250 Black

What size engine does she have? Looks like your towing capacity ranges from 1500 lbs to 3500 lbs depending on the model. the LS FWD V6 model will need a class I and only has the towing capacity of 1500 lbs while all other models can handle a class II and can tow a max of 3500 lbs.