ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old March 9th, 2009, 08:26 AM   #1
sm0kediver
one disaster at a time

Name: Jody

Motorcycle(s): EX250J9

Setting the Preload

I've never adjusted the preload on a rear shock. Looks easy enough in the manual. My owners manual says that it is preset to a 1 from the factory for a 150 lb rider, and higher setting are for heavier loads.

I weigh 205. What's the best setting?

What will changing the setting actually do?
sm0kediver is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 9th, 2009, 09:33 AM   #2
Realirony
That New Kid

Name: Matthew

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Kawasaki Ninja250R

hangin here to see the answer. im curious as well.

Old March 9th, 2009, 09:55 AM   #3
islanderman7
The Sexy Filipino

Name: Jordan

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250R 2008 (da black one)

Well I am not an expert but I think the answer is subjective; based off of what you like. I am 5'10" and weigh 175-180 Lbs and I like my preload set to the 3rd position.

I'm not riding too fast... I'm flying too low.
islanderman7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 9th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #4
sm0kediver
one disaster at a time

What does it actually do? Limit the range of travel? Pre compression? I guess I'll figure it out when I put a wrench on it.

Old March 9th, 2009, 10:02 AM   #5
Alex
ninjette.org dude

Name: 1 guess :-)

Motorcycle(s): '13 Ninja 300 (white, the fastest color!), '13 R1200RT, '14 CRF250L, '12 TT-R125LE

There's the "in a perfect world" answer, and then there's the "when it comes to our ninjettes" answer. I'll try and give both as concisely as feasible.