ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycle Gear

Notices

Old June 6th, 2016, 07:12 PM   #1
lizardywizard
green stig

Name: V

Motorcycle(s): '15 Ninja 300 ABS (Hurricane)

MOTM - May '16
Etymotic High Definition earplugs vs. Hearos - Noob Review

So, full disclosure: I am a noob. My experience with motorcycles could... well, probably fill a reasonably-sized book, but it'd be poorly cited, factually inaccurate, and, to heavily paraphrase @toEleven, mostly consist of a tribute to the erotic art of motorcycle maintenance.

That said, I felt the need to review these products, because I've been writing amateur reviews of things since I was 10 as an unusual form of entertainment and I don't see fit to stop now.

So I was having problems with wind noise causing fatigue and headaches at faster speeds. The recommended solution to this? Earplugs. I bought some high-attenuation Hearos (-32db) at the local Cycle Gear as a stopgap, then got a pair of reusable, and thus ultimately cheaper if more expensive up front, Etymotic ER-20XS Motorsports earplugs from Amazon.

I assumed the Etymotics would be a superior product, due to their price and stated advanced design blah blah scientifically engineered foo. (Isn't everything scientifically engineered? Last I heard, engineering was a science.) On almost all fronts, that turned out not to be the case.

Firstly, the feel. I don't typically like the feel of standard crappy foam earplugs, but the Hearos are actually tolerable for me - they seem to be made out of a somewhat higher quality foam than the average. They're a little tough to get in, but once you do they're not uncomfortable.