ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old July 1st, 2012, 05:39 PM   #1
Ninjettepgh
ninjette.org member

Name: Jeremy

Motorcycle(s): 06 Ninja 250

Exclamation Losing power, top speed is ~70 at 9,000rpm, WHAT'S GOING ON???

Hello all

Disclaimer: I am an extreme newbie and this is my first bike so please talk to me like i'm an idiot!

The Problem:
Lately I've started to lose power on my bike especially at high speeds. I've also realized it kinda...hmm..."sputters"? Almost like its hesitating. Nothing toooo major but definitely not normal. I've read of other forums that say their ninjas go 80-90.....what?! I'm on my last gear at 9,000rpms and i feel like its not wanting to go beyond 70-75 haha.

Background Info:
I ride all year round...and it's Pittsburgh, so the bike has certainly taken a beating since I bought last september. I'm by no means mechanically inclined, but I have managed to replace the clutch cable, change the oil, air filter to a KN filter, brakes, and put on a 2 brothers exhaust. But, the thought of cleaning and syncing (what's that mean?) the carbs frighten me. I'm ridiculously poor so taking it to a shop to clean the carbs is out of the question. Also, i did replace spark plugs a couple months ago and didn't have the gap tool, but assumed it was spaced accordingly already? I know, i'm stupid. Would that little tiny detail cause this?

I try to keep up on maintenance but again, i'm not the most savy motorcyclist.

PLEASE, any advice would be appreciated. I'm probably missing some info, but ask questions, i'll try to respond. I feel so dumb
Ninjettepgh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 1st, 2012, 05:45 PM   #2
CC Cowboy
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Whodat

Motorcycle(s): I pass the wind!

MOTM - Mar '13, Jun '14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGHninjette View Post
Hello all

Disclaimer: I am an extreme newbie and this is my first bike so please talk to me like i'm an idiot!