ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Motorcycle Gear

Old October 3rd, 2010, 05:30 PM   #1
ryu hayabusa
ninjette.org member

Name: ion

Motorcycle(s): 2000 ninja 250r

is a macy's leather jacket good 'nuff ???

i'm buying gear and keep hearing people say leather is more protective than say textile. i can only afford a textile riding jacket. but i currently own a nice leather jacket from macy's, is this jacket going to be good 'nuff??? or is there a difference in motorcycling leather and the stuff from the store, and before you ask... YES! it is REAL 100% LEATHER.
thanks guys, i'm a noob (no shame). just help keep me in the know so i can wear ATGATT.

Old October 3rd, 2010, 05:35 PM   #2
fujimumu
ninjette.org member

Name: Kensai

Motorcycle(s): Blue 2009 Ninja 250R

Those jackets might provide better abrasion resistance than a textile jacket, but they are not made for motorcycling.

A motorcycle specific jacket will have much thicker, higher quality leather and is usually complemented with elbow, shoulder and a back bad.

I don't think Macy's includes any impact armor in their leather jackets designed for fashion rather than function.
fujimumu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 3rd, 2010, 05:35 PM   #3
kkim

I'd say no.

pic of the jacket?
kkim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 3rd, 2010, 05:41 PM   #4
k-os
ninjette.org sage

Name: Andy

Motorcycle(s): 1988 Honda Hawk NT650, 1989 Honda Hawk NT650, 1997 GSXR750 Track Bike

Quote:
Originally Posted by fujimumu View Post
Those jackets might provide better abrasion resistance than a textile jacket, but they are not made for motorcycling.

A motorcycle specific jacket will have much thicker, higher quality leather and is usually complemented with elbow, shoulder and a back bad.

I don't think Macy's includes any impact armor in their leather jackets designed for fashion rather than function.
Leather motorcycle jackets also usually have better, stronger stitching.