ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Farkles

Old October 6th, 2009, 09:19 AM   #1
CZroe
CPT Falcon

Name: J.Emmett Turner

Motorcycle(s): '08 CP Blue EX250J, '97 unpainted EX250F, 2nd '97 unpainted EX250F (no engine), '07 black EX250F

CP Blue group buy? 1 jar=how much bodywork? Can the base coat be improvised cheaply?

Ordering unpainted parts is so much cheaper, but the paint is expensive! Also, I have no experience painting and have no equipment. All I know is that you don't apply it with a brush! That said, I think I'd be asking someone else to do it. If I provide the paint, how much cheaper do you guys think this would be? Is there anything else that needs to go with it, like a clear coat?

I'd like to order some unpainted mods and body parts along with the largest container of CP Blue + base I can get from Color Rite, use what I need, and sell the rest. This got me thinking: Can't we make a group buy of some kind? Not like a traditional group buy, but one where we buy more than we need, share the cost, and pass it around. Sound feasible?

How much does the base coat contribute to the final color match? It would be MUCH easier to afford if the base didn't cost WAAAAY too much also. Considering that the base coat is covered up, can we get away with a cheaper paint from elsewhere and still get a result that looks identical to the naked eye? Like I said, I don't know anything about painting and wouldn't know where to start doing that either.
CZroe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 6th, 2009, 09:21 AM   #2
LazinCajun
ninjette.org guru

Name: Anon

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250 (Blue!)

Take this with a grain of salt as I have no direct painting experience, but I'm 99.9% sure you'll need clearcoat.
LazinCajun is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 6th, 2009, 01:53 PM   #3
ztrack157
The Sportisi Master

Name: Matt

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250