ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old December 1st, 2011, 04:30 PM   #1
sparmek
ninjette.org newbie

Name: jeff

Motorcycle(s): '93 ninja 250ex

power loss - mid to high rpms/bike newb

Hi all I'm having problems with my 250ex and cant find the symptoms anywhere else, hoping someone here can help. Now I'm a complete newbie to motorcycles so please speak idiot to me.

First off I just bought the bike in mid Aug from a private seller,its a 93 ninja 250ex completely stock 13xxx mi or so, and it ran great for a month or so. Two weird things happened the first month but i had just chocked it up to it being an old cranky bike. First after the bike was warm it's idle would range between 1500rpms to 5000rpms (I know now that's not good, but like I said I'm a newb). Second riding to work on the freeway (70-75mph) in the rain and cold, also the first time i had taken it in the rain, the rpms started going down just like if i had run out of fuel I got to the side of the road and it died, i knew it wasn't empty so i tried turning it over a couple times and after about 10-15 sec it started back up and was fine, no problem the rest of the day.