ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Notices

Old October 21st, 2014, 07:40 AM   #1
isuoboe
ninjette.org member

Name: Kevin

Motorcycle(s): 1981 Honda CB125S, 2006 Ninja 250

Maintenance schedule excessive?

I've been riding a 2006 ninja 250 for about 2 years. When I bought it in 2012 it had 1047mi. (A girl bought it new and apparently never "got it.") I have 6000+mi. on it now. I'm looking at all the maintenance items that are supposed to be done every 2 years no matter what the mileage. (Master cylinder and caliper seals; brake fluid change; steering stem bearing lube; brake and fuel lines replaced, etc.) Does anyone actually do all this? I'm thinking about all the bikes of all types that lie around for years untouched. I'm also curious what it would cost to have this done by a dealer. (I would think you would quickly double the expense of the $3000 this bike cost new!) Fortunately, I enjoy taking things apart and reassembling them as much as using them. (Well, I guess that's debatable if it's a motorcycle--what can beat riding!!)

Thanks for any input!

Old October 21st, 2014, 07:46 AM   #2
adouglas
Cat herder

Name: Gort
Location: A secret lair which, being secret, has an undisclosed location

Motorcycle(s): Aprilia RS660

MOTM - Jul '18, Nov '16, Aug '14, May '13
You can probably let many of these things slide, but all those old bike also have old, crappy, hard rubber parts, right? Just because people neglect their bikes doesn't mean it's okay to do so.

Rubber gets hard with age regardless of mileage.

Brake fluid is hygroscopic (it absorbs water) and so will degrade with age as well, also regardless of mileage.

Dealer cost for all this stuff? No idea. I spin my own wrenches.

Think of it this way: it'll give you something to do on those long, cold winter nights.

Nam et ipsa scientia potestas est.
Heri historia. Cras mysterium. Hodie donum est. Carpe diem.
adouglas is offline   Reply With Quote