Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old April 10th, 2012, 02:30 PM   #1
s1akr
ninjette.org member

Name: Lazy

Motorcycle(s): 2012 Ninja 250R - Green

Question Should I wait?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to riding and new to the site. I've been licensed for 14 years, but never owned one, and have no experience on a bike other than the safety course I took when i was 19. I own a car, and I'm looking for a bike for fun, commute to school to save gas (30 miles one way, includes highway), and I'd like to experience a track day or two to see if it's for me. So, after a couple of weeks of research I decided on the Ninja 250r.

So far, I've found that this bike retains it's resale value really nicely. haven't been able to find an '08 model for less than 3k, and used 2012 with a few k miles on them are going for 5k, some for more. The only bike selling for under 3k was an '09 model for $2500 but it was sold before I had a chance to contact the seller. I'm not opposed to buying brand new. So, I visited a dealership yesterday, and I can get a brand new with 3.99% for three years with monthly payment I'm very comfortable paying.

But, my dilema is this: Will Kawasaki come out with a re-designed model in 2013? I hear Europe has a FI version of the Ninja. With the CBR now competing in the same market, it's logical for Kawasaki to include FI models around the world in response being that it is already available. It will not cost Kawasaki anything to include FI models around the world, r&d already done. They just need to put it out there.

I'd hate to spend a chunk of change or be locked in a three year agreement right now, and have an FI, remodeled version come out not too long after. I'll be kicking myself in the behind while banging my head against the wall for I don't know how long.