View Full Version : Normal operating temp

deanomyte
September 9th, 2013, 08:28 PM
I know the ninjette's are famous for being cold blooded, but I'm new to them and was wondering what the normal operating temp is? Also, what temp is considered overheating on these bikes?

alex.s
September 9th, 2013, 08:36 PM
200F.

normal coolant boils around 250F

deanomyte
September 9th, 2013, 09:09 PM
So if 200 is the normal operating temp, what is the overheat temp? 215? 225?

NevadaWolf
September 9th, 2013, 09:15 PM
I think I just read the fan kicks on at 220*, but not entirely sure if that is accurate or if that applies to only one or both the generations. I'm trying to get my newgen hot enough to run the fan but gave up.

Asspire
September 9th, 2013, 10:05 PM
Fan comes on at 210 for me on my temp gauge

Motofool
September 10th, 2013, 06:16 AM
I know the ninjette's are famous for being cold blooded, but I'm new to them and was wondering what the normal operating temp is? Also, what temp is considered overheating on these bikes?

Normal operating temperature depends on where it is measured, on the regime of work and on the rate of cooling.
The combustion chamber has the highest.
Open throttle means higher pressure and temps.
High rpms at low speed overloads the cooling system.

http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Cooling_system

The cool blood is due to the mix being regulated by the manufacturer on the lean side in order to comply with EPA restrictions.
When carburetor's and head's metal parts are cool, the vaporized gasoline in the mix condenses over those, making the mix reaching the combustion chamber way too lean.

greg737
September 10th, 2013, 09:57 AM