View Full Version : Chain bouncing and hitting swing arm

nickcasa
January 11th, 2014, 03:45 PM
I bought a 96 Ninja 250 used, good bike, did all the PM stuff on it, however even after adjusting the chain with the rear tensioners on the side kick stand to 1 inch plus or minus of play, the chain is still bouncing when riding...anywhere from 10 to 40mph, i can hear it hitting as im cruising down a flat paved road....i can see it too...

rear sprocket looks good, chain has been cleaned and lubed plenty with chain wax.....i actually bought a JT kit with a 15/41 off ebay, that will be installed next week and i'm hoping this is the issue as i can't tell if the chain is worn or not....seems to be the original as i cant find a master link....

is bouncing a sympton of a worn chain? I'm new to bikes and rapidly learning off ninja250.org and this site as well, thanks for the advice all...

PS - i can post pics if needed...

alex.s
January 11th, 2014, 04:08 PM
roll the rear wheel and check the tension on the chain. it could be unevenly worn.
maybe you'll find at certain positions, it has much more slack

csmith12
January 11th, 2014, 04:10 PM
Welcome Nick!

dcj13
January 11th, 2014, 04:18 PM
A learning opportunity for us both. What’s the rationale for adjusting chain tension while on the side stand? I didn’t read the book when I replaced (and later adjusted) my chain, but it would seem easier to adjust and check for wheel alignment while on the center stand.

You didn’t mention how many miles are on the bike. Could it be that your chain is stretched enough so that could be long enough that it can bounce on the swing arm?