View Full Version : ninja running funny

mrbanksta23
February 4th, 2014, 03:00 PM
Hey all, new member here. I've been hovering on this site for at least 8 months as a guest, but I finally decided to make an account.

I bought a 2000 Ninjette last August from a family member of my girlfriend. It was a good price and it only had 92 miles on it. Yes, 00092.3 miles.:dancecool: With that, as many of you know, a motorcycle that sits for almost 15 years is bound to have a few things it needs in order to perform as well as it can. I come from a mechanical background, and I know my fair share in turning wrenches. I was an Audi technician, and I still work on cars as side jobs. That being said, I'm much more familiar with fuel injected, force inducted engines as opposed to these tiny twin cylinder carbureted engines. My little beauty of a ninja has had the carbs cleaned, although they were as clean as a whistle when I took them apart. I brought them to the shop I was working at last summer and put them in the parts washer after removing all rubber parts, etc. The bike was running well, but I had an issue with the fuel tap not working properly. I assume it was because the bike sat for 7 1/2 years with absolutely ZERO fuel in the tank or the carburetors causing the tiny paper-like gasket in the diaphragm to dry out, along with the o-ring. I bought a used fuel tap from a guy on craigslist and also bought a new o-ring. All was well for roughly a month, then the bike started to pour fuel out of the over-flow line while it wasn't running. Well, thereafter I installed a brand new fuel-tap; OEM Kawasaki PN#51023-1393. Now the issues I still have with the bike and its running is that I notice white smoke from the left cylinder exhaust. It does NOT smell like coolant, and I've only noticed it from November until last weekend. I'm sure it's just condensation and due to the due point, etc, but I'm curious as to why it only comes from the left cylinder. The bike will idle well, however it