View Full Version : Changed oil, things are different

Foom
July 18th, 2011, 06:13 AM
I bought my bike (2003) about a three weeks ago and I've put about 200 miles on it so far. The previous owner had the oil changed last fall before putting it up for the winter. This past weekend, I changed the oil to Rotella T6 with a KN-401. Everything went as expected (except I don't have the washer for the top of the spring---not attached to the old filter). The oil I pulled out was dark and completely opaque.

The bike behaves differently now. It must warm up or else it stalls. Also, if I stop the bike in first and leave it for a while, I have to hold the clutch and rock it back and forth to get the clutch to disengage before I start it, otherwise, it bucks like a mule.

I'm a bit of a newb so this might be normal...

planet-beaver
July 18th, 2011, 06:48 AM
If oil was black, he most likely lied about just changing it. I see no reason for new better oil to effect your warm up time. If anything, the synthetic oil will be thinner when cold with engine running smoother. Ninjas have to be warmed up otherwise they will stall.

Not sure what you mean about the clutch. Sometime you have to rock the bikes to pop it in the gear.

Foom
July 18th, 2011, 06:58 AM
I figured that about the stalls and about the previous change of oil.

If the bike is cold and I hold down the clutch and try to roll the bike, it will stop as if I wasn't holding the clutch at all; however, if I keep pushing or rock it back and forth, the clutch will slip and I'm able to push the bike with the clutch depressed. I'm not talking about changing gears---I'm talking about moving the cold bike in first with the clutch depressed.

Before changing the oil, I could cold start the bike in first by holding the clutch. I would move a bit, but not much---now, after the oil change, it jumps a lot unless I make the clutch slip before starting it.

Thanks

nah.uhh
July 18th, 2011, 07:05 AM