ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Farkles

Old December 6th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #1
binlagin
ninjette.org member

Name: Ben

Motorcycle(s): 2005 CBR600RR

Lightbulb iPhone/iPod Dashboard - Winter project

Hey Everyone!

Ever since I picked up my motorcycle, I've grown tired of gaming...you can't even compare the two! By day I'm a software developer but I've always had an interest in hacking electronics. So while my bike is away for the long winter months(silly Canada!), this is what I plan on doing keep my sanity:

Purpose

The purpose of this thread is to track the the development of an iPhone/iPod dashboard remote for the Ninja 250 2008+.

My plan is to keep this post synchronized in a couple of different places while the project is in a development stage. I'm hoping by using a public forum we all can come up with unique solutions to problems this project will encounter as it develops.

So if your bored and trolling the internet feel free to check this post out and pitch any ideas that you think could help improve the designs.

Introduction

Yea yea... my mad photoshop skillz.

So what is it? It's an iPod dashboard that will slide into the top of your Ninja 250 dial console. This really this could be re-purposed for many different things but this thread will specifically deal with this bike.

Features

I have an unlocked iPhone(2G) and I don't really want to pay the upgrade price to move to a 3GS. To run GPS apps on my iPhone I have opted to mount a blue tooth GPS on top of the dash insert and use GPSSerial to emulate the iPhone GPS on my phone. You could also do this with an iPod Touch to get a GPS enabled iPod Touch .

To keep feature creep to a minimum, I have broken this project into two versions. Version 1 will focus on getting a stable platform of core functionality listed below. Version 2 will allow us to unlock the true potential of the Arduino micro controller(www.arduino.cc).

Version 1 Requirements