ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Farkles

Old September 12th, 2016, 01:57 AM   #1
Lap202
The Mechanical Noob

Name: Andrew

Motorcycle(s): 2008 Ninja 250R

Spraying scratched fairing set with Krylon Maxx Spray Paint

So as an automotive painter, I usually do all my painting with an expensive gun and pump set up with a Napa auto paint through Martin senior. So this has been interesting for me as a professional painter.

I will post updates as I do each piece and talk about the benefits and disadvantages of using spray paint vs automotive paint through a gun.

Pre Paint
Before painting I sanded all surfaces with 320 grit to provide a surface for the paint to adhere to. I used this time to smooth the edges of the scratches into the paint. Nothing was bad enough to require body filler and will cover in the paint.

Ideally I would use acetone to wash the surfaces and pull the sanded paint dust off, but water worked for this purpose. I used tape as I couldn't find my tack rags to ensure no trash was on the part.

Color choice: Flat White
I did flat for 1 purpose only: You can't mess it up.
Flat colors in my opinion always flash off smooth and with white especially you can't see areas that may be dry compared to the rest of the paint. This is especially important with spray paint- Hides the rattle can unevenness.

Day 1
The front wheel cover.
So this is my first piece I decided to do. The first thing that annoyed me right away was the spray pattern from the Krylon. It is literally like a 2 inch circle, where as a gun does a nice line that is about a foot tall and an inch wide.

To counter this problem I held the spray can back and did quick little passes to get full coverage. The paint dried fast enough I was able to do the inside and flip it within 5 minutes to do the outside.