ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > New Members

Old March 25th, 2012, 12:43 PM   #1
iBang
ninjette.org member

Name: Ian

Motorcycle(s): '10 Ninja 250

New member rebuilding a '10 in Houston

Figured that since I owned a 250 it was time to scout out some forums for gathering information for when I inevitably hit that question that I just can't google the answer to. A bit about me - I've been riding for a couple of years now. Started riding in Austin and have since moved to Houston Started out on a '98 Honda CBR 600 F3 which was a great old bike but I ultimately ended up selling it early last year to finance a Suzuki DR650 done out in full motard style. I ride with my fiancee and she had back surgery and the sport bikes were just not cutting it while she healed up (she was riding a 2005 R1 at that point). We mistakenly thought that having had our fast fun on the big bikes, we wouldn't want sport bikes any more... yeah, that lasted less than a year. I miss the speed and acceleration some (ok, a lot), but more I missed the stability at highway speeds.

Fast forward to last week. I was offered a smoking hot deal on a toy hauler that I've been trying to get a friend to sell me for a while now. Funds need to be generated so my suzuki went up for sale. Not having a motorcycle wasn't going to cut it but before I could even go looking for something cheap to ride, a friend offered me his damaged ninja 250. I'd been wanting a 250 for a track bike for a while so this was a good chance to get one and use it for all around use before converting it to a track bike later. The $900 price tag for a bike with 3k on it was a pretty good incentive as well!

As I mentioned, the bike was damaged. I say damaged instead of wrecked since the bent and broken bits (peg, stand, few other bits) had already been figured out and the bike was nice and ridable - albeit in naked form.

Here she is as I picked it up: