ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old March 7th, 2016, 11:33 PM   #1
missinglink
ninjette.org member

Name: Trevin

Motorcycle(s): '01 Ninja 250r

Won't shift past 2nd gear

So my '01 ninja currently will not shift past 2nd gear. I'm pretty new at diagnosing stuff so am having problems figuring this out.

After not riding it for some months I did an oil change and took a ride around. It's during this ride where I noticed the problem. To be clear, I didn't dump it or anything so I don't believe anything will be bent which Is one thing I have noticed other people on the internet saying it could be.

It will shift down to 1st and up to N and 2nd when riding but no more than that. One thing I read about was a spring that is in the clutch housing that can break sometimes. Not sure if this is it. Any thoughts?
missinglink is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 8th, 2016, 07:09 AM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
If it was OK before and the only thing that has happened to the machine is a long period of inactivity and a change of oil, it is possible that the problem is dried clutch's discs.

That means that the film of oil that normally remains pressed among those has flown down.
If that is true, the discs do not properly separate when you press the clutch levelr, dragging the gears in the transmission.

I would keep trying running the poor thing, shifting between 1 and 2 and engine-braking for some minutes.
Motofool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 8th, 2016, 09:14 AM   #3
HoneyBadgerRy
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Ryan

Motorcycle(s): 05 Ninja 250, 04 KTM 625 SMC, 01 Xc250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motofool View Post