ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old April 30th, 2014, 02:51 AM   #1
gasguzziler
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Mike

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250r

Front suspension question

So I have a 2007 ninja 250, it's my first bike and I am still learning but I have a question on the suspension. I have noticed a couple of times when I am braking I just hit the front brake and the entire front end just fully collapsed, like the front dropped 6". This seemed quite dangerous as it was hard to control the bike with this. I am wondering if this is a problem with the bike or more of a design flaw. Fortunately for me it has all worked out well and I have tried to brake more with the rear brake but would like to figure this out.
gasguzziler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 30th, 2014, 03:21 AM   #2
psych0hans
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Hansveer

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250r - Track whore, Ninja 300 - SOLD, KTM RC390 - Orange Hulk, Ducati 899 Panigale - Red Devil.

Hi buddy, depending on your weight, the front springs might be too soft for you. Buy a stiffer spring and some heavier oil and you should be good to go.

Old April 30th, 2014, 03:23 AM   #3
Sipper'
ninjette.org member

Name: Brian

Motorcycle(s): 250 Ninja

Very soft springs combined with the 200mm factory oil level and no damping.

At least, that is what the manual calls for oil level wise.

You can up the level to help, but stiffer springs are a must.
Sipper' is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 30th, 2014, 03:31 AM   #4
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by gasguzziler View Post