ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old December 6th, 2012, 10:04 AM   #1
OCMagnum
ninjette.org member

Name: OC

Motorcycle(s): 2014 Aprilia Dorsoduro 750, 2012 Ducati Monster 696 (sold), 2012 Ninja 250 (sold)

best practices for filtering at red light

Hi All,

Would like the input of people who filter to the front of the line at red lights. Since I am still fairly new to commuting on my bike, I don't always filter and will often just position myself in a way that I could duck between cars if there is immediate doom approaching from the back. I always have the bike in gear at lights. That said, some of the lines at SoCal lights (especially close to Freeway on/off ramps) can be very long during rush hour and it can take a couple of cycles go get through. In these situations I do filter to the front when I feel I can do so safely and position myself back in the middle of a lane once at the front. Never really check speed as I filter through (looking for any indication that a car is doing something stupid instead), but would assume I go 10 to 15 mph when moving between cars.

My question is related to the instances when the light turns green while I am in the process of filtering to the front. What are your best practices to make sure you are noticed and can safely merge back into a lane? I appreciate that there likely is no "one size fits all" solution as much will depend on specific traffic situation, but would appreciate your thoughts and observations.