ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Off-Topic

Old August 26th, 2009, 05:39 PM   #1
Sailariel
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Alex

Motorcycle(s): 2010 Honda NT-700-V, formerly, Green 2008 Ninja 250R

I REALLY need your input

I don`t know if this is the right place, but I need some input from the "Family". Somehow I am not "getting it". My 25 year old nephew just got his permit and has not taken the MSF Course--nor does he intend to, since his "friends" are going to teach him anything he needs to know. Obviously, I am a geezer who rides a wimpy 250 and does not know jack. The fact that I have 50 years experience with no accidents further proves that I am a real wuss. The problem I have is that he bought a ZX10R as his first bike, used, from one of his friends who bought a Hayabusa (The friend is also 25 and has been riding for two years--also no MSF Course) MSF courses are for losers. I am not close to this nephew--but he is family and it does affect us. His father is one of those Libertarians whose philosophy is "Let him do his thing." As I read this thread, I feel I should really be writing to "Dear Abby", but she would not know a ZX10R from a `Busa. I have tried the "appreciation approach"--start small and work up, but that fell on deaf ears since all his friends are riding the heavy hardware. I am at a loss. Wife says, there is not a damn thing you can do that you haven`t done already. She says, "No such thing as bad kids--just bad parents." I just can`t seem to dismiss it like that. Am waiting for the other shoe to drop. Maybe I should see a Shrink.
Sailariel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 26th, 2009, 05:45 PM   #2
Tigress
Musical Genius

Name: Belinda

Motorcycle(s): 09 Ninja 250R Blue AKA "The Kid" 08 Vulcan 900 Classic Blue(for now) AKA "Honey"