ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old May 21st, 2013, 02:10 PM   #1
Alchemist
Crash Test Dummy

Name: Ryan

Motorcycle(s): none (at the moment)

Engine braking

So I'm very new to this but in riding around I find myself using engine braking and throttle control to slow down for planned stops (lights, turns, stop signs, etc), far more than either wheel brake. It seems to be successful, and I can retain a normal stopping distance with this, however I don't see this discussed often on here, but I frequently see references to proper braking technique with wheel brakes, so this raises two questions:

1) Am I setting myself up for any kind of trouble by doing this?

2) Is this going to cause increased wear on the engine (on a long term basis)?
Alchemist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 21st, 2013, 02:13 PM   #2
ADoMinGu3z
ninjette.org member

just be sure to use it while feathering the brake lever at the very least so that the cars behind u kno ur slowing down
ADoMinGu3z is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 21st, 2013, 02:21 PM   #3
alex.s
wat

Name: wat

Motorcycle(s): wat

MOTM - Oct '12, Feb '14
1) no
2) yes, slightly. but you probably wont really do any damage unless you are being extremely aggressive with your engine braking. if you feather the clutch out and don't send the RPMs above redline you'll probably never see any issues from it.

Old May 21st, 2013, 02:22 PM   #4
Nemesis
CVMA #74 WSMC #750

Name: Nemesis

Motorcycle(s): All of them

Most of us racers red line and down shift (engine brake) from there more than the average street rider. I've own my bike a little over 5 yrs now and I haven't had any problems with the engine whatsoever. With that said, someone once asked me, "What's more inexpensive to replace? Transmission or brake pads?"