ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old November 13th, 2010, 10:04 PM   #1
devmasa
ninjette.org member

Name: devmasa

Motorcycle(s): 2006 Yamaha R6, 2007 Ninja 250

Chinese Scooters ...are they any good?

Planning to buy a 150 cc chinese/asian made scooter for the missus for the school commute. ~5 miles each way on surface streets only.Not planning to take this on the freeway ever.
Any recommendations/experiences for these scooters ?
Thanks

Old November 13th, 2010, 11:00 PM   #2
fujimumu
ninjette.org member

Name: Kensai

Motorcycle(s): Blue 2009 Ninja 250R

Honda has some nice scooters, and I'm sure their build quality is much better and more reliable than any chinese scooters you can buy.
http://powersports.honda.com/street/scooters.aspx
fujimumu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 13th, 2010, 11:02 PM   #3
ScraitT
Green!

Name: Tyler

Motorcycle(s): 08 Ninja 250R, 04 Honda CRF230F, 94 Honda XR80R

I have no experience with the scooters, but I have a friend who had one of the cheap chinese ATVs.

Not even a week old and hit a small hill out ridding that put the ATV approx 1-2 feet in the air (expected treatment of an offroad vehicle). Well apparently, a bolt snapped through on landing, causing the front right wheel to become disconnected and turn left, while the other front wheel remained straight. The result was an ATV flying end over end. Luckily he was unhurt.
Thing continued to break left and right after that...sometimes small things, sometimes relatively important things that could pose serious safety concerns such as the incident described above.

So in my opinion, if a chinese scooter has anywhere near that build quality, I would stay far far away for safety concerns.