ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old April 28th, 2013, 05:45 PM   #1
soggybottom
Aimless

Name: rory

Motorcycle(s): 01 ninja 250

Blew a corner today

I consider myself a novice. I've probably got 3-4 years experience, maybe 5k to 8k miles a year. I don't push the limits, and am generally very cautious and aware.

Today I was out enjoying some hilly, twisty roads. I was riding well within my limits, being cautious of the sandy roads, and having a great time. Then I came to a blind corner. I was daydreaming, came in way too hot, and before I knew it I was leaned farther than I am comfortable on a public road, and riding the yellow line. I panicked and rolled off the gas, which unloaded the rear, making me feel even less in control, and making me cross the yellow. I didn't slide the rear or run off the road, there was no oncoming traffic, but I was shook up for a few minutes. It could have easily been much worse.

I've done that corner probably a dozen times before with no problems, and have come into corners with too much speed before and reacted appropriately. It was just a lapse in focus, and a panicked reaction. I tell this story to hopefully remind everyone to keep your wits about you, and stay focused.

Last futzed with by soggybottom; April 29th, 2013 at 04:41 AM.
soggybottom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 28th, 2013, 05:54 PM   #2
fishdip
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Fish

Motorcycle(s): 250/300

Quote:
Originally Posted by soggybottom View Post
I consider myself a novice. I've probably got 3-4 years experience, maybe 5k to 8k miles a year. I don't push the limits, and am generally very cautious and aware.