ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Ninjettes At Speed

Old January 24th, 2015, 08:46 PM   #1
sparky80
ninjette.org member

Name: James

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Yamaha FZ1, 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A, 2014 Ninja 300

Talking Another 250 track project

Hey... I picked up an '08 250 today for a grand... almost couldn't pass that up. Has 6k miles on it and was laid down on its left side. It's pretty much all cosmetic but gonna track it out.

Couple of questions...

Do ya keep the black trim pieces just below the tank/seat? I ordered Hot Bodies plastics and wasn't sure how those line up.

I don't need any of the wiring for lights or anything. It seems from initial observations that the harnesses are all tied together... kinda hard to separate, or is it? I'm an aircraft electrician so I don't mind tearing apart wiring.

Anything else I can get rid of? Took the horn off, gonna take the kickstand switch off, clutch switch, rear brake switch.

Any good companies or people make a exhaust bracket? Should be a fun toy... coming from 2 R6 trackbikes so it'll be different.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1124.JPG (279.0 KB, 3 views)
sparky80 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 24th, 2015, 09:09 PM   #2
csmith12
The Corner Whisperer

Name: Chris (aka Reactor)

Motorcycle(s): 2010 250 (track), 1992 250, 2006 R6 (street/track), 2008 R6 (track)

MOTY 2015, MOTM - Nov '12, Nov '13
Click here

There is much that can be removed from the wiring harness after you get your track bodywork to delete lights. Kill that side stand and mount tab. Exhaust bracket?!?!?!? You should be getting a full system yo. That system will let you know what bracket you need to hang the can or you are free to customize your own.

With hotbodies, you will need to keep the black trim pieces under the seat if you like the looks but they are NOT required.

Other oddball stuff that racers delete;
Dash
Front fairing stay and replace with aluminum
Lighter chain/sprocket conversion