ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > General Motorcycling Discussion

Old January 20th, 2011, 12:46 AM   #1
Francis
ninjette.org newbie 2,000

Name: Francis

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250r

What Determines "Speed"

Hey, guys. I'm new to mechanics and such so obviously not an engineer. Anyways, what factors determine a motorcycle's speed (acceleration).

I've been reading some posts and articles and I've noticed some people don't recommend the CBR 600 as a "first bike" but recommend the SV650 even though it has a little more cc.

I doubt the weight differences of the bike matter too much. Am I wrong?

Also, any good books out there that I can read that can help me understand my 250r more (and motorcycles in general). Example questions:

- what do carburetors do
- compression ratio
- difference of four stroke and two stroke
- would I benefit with more tooth in sprocket or not

I've done some Googling but it would be nice to have a book. The things I've Googled still puzzles the crap outta me.

Thanks o.O
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 20th, 2011, 12:55 AM   #2
dyeforever
ninjette.org member

Name: Jesse

Motorcycle(s): 04 250r(sold), 09 250r(sold), 07 CRF450x, 07 sv650(sold)

the cbr 600 is a inline 4 while the sv650 is a 650 v twin. much difference in power and delivery.
dyeforever is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 20th, 2011, 01:02 AM   #3
Francis

I'm still lost there, mate.

That's like telling a 5 year old 9 - x = 25

Even if he knew how to add and subtract, he wouldn't know what to do. haha.

Old January 20th, 2011, 01:37 AM   #4
setasai
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Brian

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Ninja 250R Green