ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old August 10th, 2012, 05:41 PM   #1
skeeker20
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Drake

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250r 2009

Dropped bike. Cannot downshift ):

Hi! New to the forums.

So I dropped my 2009 ninja 250r on its left side on at a stop trying to fix my pants -___-". It runs fine for the most part but I cannot downshift from 4th gear, it shifts up to 5th and 6th fine. I ride it around but its been a pain this summer not having access to 1 N 2nd or 3rd.

I have no experience with mechanical problems at all. Can anyone tell me where I can start. thank you so much!

7Plcz.jpg

Last futzed with by skeeker20; August 10th, 2012 at 05:49 PM. Reason: added picture
skeeker20 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 10th, 2012, 05:46 PM   #2
cuong-nutz
RIP Alex

Name: Cuong

Motorcycle(s): '10 250r, '09 265r

Check your shifter and make sure it's not binding up against the shift rod. Also, make sure your clutch is disengaging all the way when it's pulled in. Not sure what else could cause you to not shift in/out.

Old August 10th, 2012, 06:16 PM   #3
skeeker20
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Drake

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 250r 2009

The shifter is rubbing against the shift rod but I can move down past it just fine, problem is, it moves down but nothing clicks. How can i check if the clutch isnt disengaging all the way? Thank you so much for the reply (:
skeeker20 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 10th, 2012, 09:19 PM   #4
arnoldc6
ninjette.org member

Name: Arnold

Motorcycle(s): 09 ninja 250r

Quote:
Originally Posted by skeeker20 View Post
The shifter is rubbing against the shift rod but I can move down past it just fine, problem is, it moves down but nothing clicks. How can i check if the clutch isnt disengaging all the way? Thank you so much for the reply (: