ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R > 1986 - 2007 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old September 10th, 2013, 08:13 PM   #1
ElJokerr
ninjette.org member

Name: Alan

Motorcycle(s): 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Camshaft chain removal

So my '06 Ninja 250 has 30K miles and is making a rattling noise, more noticeable at idle than at acceleration or driving. I took it to two different shops, and both confirmed that the chain needs to be replaced... I plan to do it myself, though it's my first time (I do have a very good knowledge of how things work, taking them apart, and putting things back together). However, I would like to know if I need any special tools other than the regular handy ones you would find in any mechanics garage, and also what parts I need to remove... Obviously the camshafts must come off prior to removing the chain, am I correct? Suggestions and advice on this from people with first hand experience on this job is appreciated. Thank you.
ElJokerr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 10th, 2013, 08:26 PM   #2
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
First, you should measure the elongation of the chain by yourself.

At 30K miles, it should be OK still.

Please, read this old thread:
http://www.ninjette.org/forums/showt...443#post592443
Motofool is offline   Reply With Quote

Old September 12th, 2013, 09:34 PM   #3
ElJokerr
ninjette.org member

Yup, every 10-link lengths I've been measuring are over 2.5in, which equals to 5in for 20-links, and service limit is 128.9mm (5in=128mm). So it's confirmed, the camshaft chain needs to be replaced...

Old September 13th, 2013, 06:04 AM   #4
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElJokerr View Post