ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > New Members

Old February 28th, 2012, 11:14 AM   #1
colen1520
ninjette.org newbie

Name: Nick

Motorcycle(s): None

New Rider With A Comparison Question

Hello all, I'm Nick from Wisconsin. I'm new to the sport bike world, and have really minimal riding experience when it comes to bikes. I want to buy my first bike and have it narrowed down to either a 250r or Yamaha R6. Now I know most on this site will be biased, but I'm wondering what would be a better bike to start off with. My main concern is although the 250r being a smaller bike would be obvious choice, i'm concerned after getting comfortable on the bike I will want something a little faster. Any thoughts?
colen1520 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2012, 11:23 AM   #2
smackenz
ninjette.org member

Name: Simon

Motorcycle(s): 2009 Kawi 250

of course u will eventually want to go crazy fast, but the 250 is a great learning bike and for many ppl on this forum it is a great bike to keep for life. the 250s are a fun ride, and can be ridden hard on the street, u get to use all the gears and actually give her without worrying about flying through a school zone. i have never ridden an r6 but i understand as a new rider if u were to make a mistake and give the throttle a twist u can easily end up on ur back watching ur bike go down the street. i think the 250 is a great way to start and build up your skills. someone with more experience will probably have alot more than me to share
smackenz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2012, 11:24 AM   #3
EsrTek
ninjette.org certified postwhore

Name: Eric

Motorcycle(s): '13 300

Give yourself 2yrs on a 250r then get the r6 and you will be able to use what the R6 can deliver.
EsrTek is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 28th, 2012, 11:29 AM   #4
colen1520
ninjette.org newbie