ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R > 2008 - 2012 Ninja 250R Tech Talk

Old April 7th, 2015, 07:40 PM   #1
Hatter
ninjette.org member

Name: Greg

Motorcycle(s): 250r

Need Assistance Tuning/Rejetting

So I began the process of re jetting my 2009 250 today to compensate for the slip-on and pod air filters. I'm having a fantastic time :roll eyes: . On the bright side, i'm a pro at removing the carbs..... I could use some help diagnosing my issues.

Main: 108 Pilot: 40 Mixture: 2 turns

Idles very smooth. Won't Rev past 6k. Plugs appear to indicate it's running rich.

Main: 110 Pilot: 40 Mixture 2 turns

Idles smooth. Occasionally revs to 7-8k (more luck if I roll the throttle, but can't hit the red line. Exhaust smells rich and plugs sooty

I haven't shimmed the needles yet. Could this be the issue? Maybe I have waaaayy too large of jets? I'm thinking of stopping by the shop tomorrow and picking up #100 jets and shims. Any other suggestions?
Hatter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 8th, 2015, 05:03 AM   #2
subxero
dirty boy

Name: Joe

Motorcycle(s): I don't even know anymore??

MOTM - Apr '14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatter View Post
So I began the process of re jetting my 2009 250 today to compensate for the slip-on and pod air filters. I'm having a fantastic time :roll eyes: . On the bright side, i'm a pro at removing the carbs..... I could use some help diagnosing my issues.

Main: 108 Pilot: 40 Mixture: 2 turns

Idles very smooth. Won't Rev past 6k. Plugs appear to indicate it's running rich.

Main: 110 Pilot: 40 Mixture 2 turns

Idles smooth. Occasionally revs to 7-8k (more luck if I roll the throttle, but can't hit the red line. Exhaust smells rich and plugs sooty

I haven't shimmed the needles yet. Could this be the issue? Maybe I have waaaayy too large of jets? I'm thinking of stopping by the shop tomorrow and picking up #100 jets and shims. Any other suggestions?