ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old November 11th, 2012, 05:51 PM   #1
subxero
dirty boy

Name: Joe

Motorcycle(s): I don't even know anymore??

MOTM - Apr '14
highway riding and the tuck

How much do you guys, and gals tuck when doing highway riding?

I am still fairly new to riding on the street, just clipped 1000 miles on the 250 today, got it in late September. This weekend i was doing long commuting to my weekend job which involves 90% highway for around 1hr. Generally going 70mph at least, sometime slightly less on one of the roads, and more like 80mph on the main highway.

I have determined that i am not a big fan of doing 70mph or higher with out being at least partially tucked especially on main highway dealing with turbulence from other vehicles. I can cruise comfortably at 55-60 with no tuck but again after 60 i start to get pushed around by the wind and feel more comfortable tucked in a bit.

what about you all?
subxero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 11th, 2012, 05:56 PM   #2
ninjabrewer
dirty old man

Name: Chris

Motorcycle(s): Blue '08 Ninja 250

most of the time when I am riding like that, I will lay my left arm across the tank and lean on it.

nb

Old November 11th, 2012, 06:20 PM   #3
00NissanNinja
I hate driving...

Name: S

Motorcycle(s): 13 Triumph Street Triple R, 09 Ninja 250r (Sold 4/20/12)

^Lol I do the exact same thing, almost felt like I was the only one.

09 ninja 2fiddy SE Driving slow things fast
00NissanNinja is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 11th, 2012, 06:29 PM   #4
Motofool
Daily Ninjette rider

Name: Hernan

Motorcycle(s): 2007 Ninja 250

MOTY - 2016, MOTM - Dec '12, Jan '14, Jan '15, May '16
Quote:
Originally Posted by subxero View Post
.....what about you all?
My bike is naked, which helps with that, I guess.

I only need to tuck doing 80 with a strong head or cross wind (15~20 mph).

I avoid doing it because I loose rear and side visibility via my mirrors.