ninjette.org

Go Back   ninjette.org > General > Riding Skills

Old April 11th, 2014, 06:01 PM   #1
ninjanewby
ninjette.org member

Name: Jimmy

Motorcycle(s): Ninja 300

indicators

I know it's something little but I always seem to forget to turn my indicators off. Having been "caged" for most of my life they've automatically turned off. Got honked at the other day because I didn't realize my indicator was still on. Any tips for remembering to cancel them. I'm only new to riding and find myself concentrating on so many other things. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
ninjanewby is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 11th, 2014, 06:10 PM   #2
NevadaWolf
Certified looney toon

Name: Teri

Motorcycle(s): 2012 Ninja 250, 102k+ miles -- 2014 CB500X, 42k+ miles

MOTM Jul '13, Jul '14
I have no helpful advice other than having been aware of other bikers leaving them on, I make a point of finishing the turn, cancel the signal.

Do it often enough and it becomes habit. I also find myself randomly pushing the cancel button "just in case" as I am going.
Hold yourself to the same rules you expect others to follow.
NevadaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 11th, 2014, 06:14 PM   #3
Dredgshadow
ninjette.org member

Name: Mike

Motorcycle(s): 2013 600RR, 2009 250r

Just make it part of your routine. Humans are really habitual creatures so if every time you turn you press the turn signal off, you'll eventually form a good habit of always turning it off. Remember that you are new, and with all of the other things you are focusing on doing that it is normal to forget little things like the turn signal. However it is, as you probably realize, important to your safety to make sure that you aren't riding down the road with people thinking that you might turn and therefore turning in front of you. I was there until I made it a good habit to always hit that button when I have completed my turn. You'll be good bro.
Dredgshadow is offline   Reply With Quote